top of page

Thoughts on time spent outside...

Updated: Nov 10, 2020


Washington & Jefferson students were invited to share their thoughts on what being outdoors means to them. Every piece is unique, but a common thread of nature providing a sense of well-being ties them all together. I hope you take a minute to read a few, they all made me smile.

~ See you outside! Pam :)


Welcome to the Outdoors!


Hi there!

I know you have been stressed out with work, classes, family, friends, relationships, it's okay, I understand. It feels like life is changing and that can be scary. I want you to do something though, make yourself a mug of tea, hot chocolate, coffee, or any drink of your choice and go outside. Look at how the leaves have been changing. Feel how cool the air has been getting, see how much later the sun rises and how early it sets. Our world is constantly changing and it's not always a bad thing. In fact there are times when it's absolutely beautiful. 

So take a break and enjoy the beauty of change. 


~ Emily

 

Nature is ALWAYS open!


In the current state of the world it may feel like everything is shut down; restaurants, movie theaters, stores… While this may seem like the case it isn’t true. There is one resource that is always there, and will never be shut down. This resource is the great outdoors.

Even when the world is put on pause,nature doesn’t stop.

Just take a look outside. The seasons have continued to change while we were

inside. Looking for something to do where you can stay safe and socially distanced? Go for a hike, sit under a tree, observe the changing of the leaves. The world may seem scary, but it truly is a beautiful place when you take time to stop and smell the roses.


~Hannah

 

Breathe


Time spent outside is not only refreshing, but beneficial to your mental and physical health. Personally, I enjoy hiking, camping, kayaking, biking, etc. I often visit my local park and explore the trails, finding new intriguing paths each time. Not every workout needs to be intense,

activities like these are also great for your physical health.


As far as mental health, nature allows you the space and silence to relax.


Pick up a leaf, check out a stream—clear your head.

~ Abigail


 

Unplug


Being able to spend time outdoors is a great way to relieve stress. Whether I go for a walk with my friends or by myself, I find it very soothing to hear the sounds of nature surrounding me.

Going outside also takes your mind off of using electronics, which is taking over our day and age.

There are many health benefits that go along with spending time in the great outdoors! One of my favorite experiences in nature is going to a local park with friends and family for picnics. Hanging out in the fresh air with loved ones brings a whole new perspective for appreciating life, in my opinion. My family and friends will play corn hole and other fun outdoor games while spending time together. 


 As an eighteen year old, I experience stresses that sometimes will affect my health. Whether it is an upcoming exam, project, or basketball game, going outdoors helps relieve me of anxiety and stress because of the calm surroundings such as the sound of the trees and leaves rustling in the wind and the chirping of birds in the distance.

Studies show that being exposed to nature not only makes you feel better in the emotional state, but it also contributes to your physical state and wellbeing by reducing blood pressure, muscle tension, heart rate, and the production of hormones that cause stress.

...being in nature can improve your eyesight. Soaking in the sun and that vitamin D boosts your immune system, another great reason to go outside.


~ Rachel






 

The power of perspective


Spending time outdoors has always been important to me because it is a perfect way to regroup when life gets stressful.

Being out in nature for even just a few minutes helps me clear my head and focus on something peaceful and beautiful.

There are so many things in nature to look at and appreciate, like watching birds and squirrels interact with their surroundings. It’s entertaining to watch animals’ behavior, and I find myself forgetting what was originally stressing me out when I take the time to just sit outside and observe.


I think nature is important for a person’s general health because it has an almost healing effect on the mind. People can get so wound up and tense over the problems and trials of life, but when they take the time to stop and spend some time outdoors, they seem to relax a little

and think about things more clearly. I know that I find myself thinking about issues from a better perspective after I take some time to sit outside in the woods or a park. Going back to nature is like seeing how life was originally, and it allows us to appreciate a simpler way to live. When we think about the simplicity of nature, I think it reminds us that we need to slow down and take stock of what’s really important to us as individuals.


~Graecyn



 

In this together


As someone whose hometown is Erie, PA, the beach is my getaway at all times throughout the year. I occasionally go to Presque Isle in the summer, swimming in the lake and making castles in the sand. But mostly I go in the "off" seasons.


I go in the spring when it just starts getting warm enough to walk on the sand without shoes, with a light breeze blowing, perfect for kite flying. I go in the fall, when I have to wear a jacket and hat so that my limbs do not freeze with the chilling wind that blows through. And I go in the winter, where snow and ice cover most of the beach. I think winter is my favorite time to go because there tends to be no one else out there in the winter admiring the tiny glaciers and icebergs created by the unpredictable weather of Erie. One word I would use to describe Presque Isle in the winter? Peaceful. Quiet, invigorating, and peaceful. As the seasons change for the colder and the pandemic spreads once again, I use nature as my solace, as my own personal getaway. It keeps me sane and so could it for you; I implore you to find your local happy place. Find your happy place and visit it whenever life gets to be a little too much.

We can get through this and come out on the other side of this pandemic; it just might take a little bit of nature.

~Kylie



 

Star Power

Spending time outdoors is important to me because it always relaxes me and can reduce stress. Sometimes going for a walk by myself and observing all the beauty that nature has to offer can relax me.

One of my favorite experiences outdoors was waking up early in the morning and hiking to watch the sunrise with friends. Sitting on the rocks watching the sunrise after hiking was a beautiful moment.


Another favorite experience in nature was waking up very early in the morning and stargazing with friends. We saw stars, the glow of other planets, and were even lucky enough to see a couple shooting stars. In my opinion, stargazing is one of the most relaxing activities to do outside because you lay down and observe the beauty of the night sky. It also is interesting to see how the sky changes throughout the night as stars come and go. 


~Thomas


 

Health


I like spending time outdoors. If you looked at me, you wouldn’t think that. I have asthma, am

very pale, and get constant bug bites. Despite that, nature relaxes me. Being outside is calming, soothing. A gentle breeze rustling the trees, brushing past you. Nothing is better. Sitting down on the porch, during a cool afternoon, with a citronella candle lit on a table next to me. I’ve spent many afternoons like that.

A book in my hand, reading in the sunlight, as the hours tick by, perfection.

I recently started spending more time outside, spending at least half an hour a day taking a walk. The walk through nature, no sounds around but the chirping of the crickets is nice. I do some of my best thinking then, I’ve worked through many different problems just with the walk. Walking along in silence generates a sense of peace. Since I started these walks, my health has greatly improved, my blood pressure has stopped being high, I’ve lost weight, and my fitness has improved. This in turn has reflected on my mental health. My stress levels have gone down, I haven’t been working myself up over mistakes or any other issues since I began walking.

Nature is an amazing place.


~ Michael

 

Crisp, Fall Air


Spending time outside is important to me because it’s very peaceful and helpful to my mental health. It gives me a time to look around and reflect. Outdoors is also my favorite place to run, especially in the fall. It’s nice to feel the brisk, fresh air on a long run. 


~Sabrina



 

Alive


Spending time outdoors is important to me because it gives me the opportunity to take in nature. I grew up in Houston, Tx and there are not as many trees as there are here in Washington, Pa. When I go outside, I can see the trees change colors and the leaves fall off while squirrels are running around up the trees.


My favorite experience so far outside was when I went to Utah and hiked up different mountains. The last mountain we climbed up during the trip was the tallest one of them and it was a lot of effort. Starting from small to big helped so much to really take in nature and try to get more from it. During the climb, I felt tired but also at peace because we were quietly hiking up. When we finally got to the top, we were able to sit down in a flat area and we got there just in time to see the sunset! Watching the sun go down behind the other mountains was so beautiful and a calm orange with yellow mixed together. As we were going down, I was smiling because the hike let me have a beautiful and calming experience that I will not forget.

Taking a small walk or a jog outside always helps to make sure that I look around where I live and appreciate that I get to live.  

~Sara

 

Nature Routine


Spending time outdoors has always been important to me. Some of my fondest memories are those which I have made outside, from riding bikes as a kid to geocaching with my friends now that I’m a college student. Additionally, as a runner, the outdoors are critical to my sport. There is nothing quite like getting up early on a Sunday morning for a long run and getting to spend an hour by myself enjoying my surroundings.

Some specific memories regarding the outdoors that are especially meaningful to me are those golfing with my grandpa.

Over the summers, we would go once a week to either the course or the driving range and just enjoy the outdoors and each other’s company. Through these experiences, we were able to strengthen our relationship and grow closer, an experience which I would not change for the world.

 

Overall, spending time outdoors is a critical part of my routine. It is not only fun, but it is also integral to my mental health. The ability to take a pause from the stress of everyday life and just enjoy nature is key to my ability to reduce stress. I would encourage everyone to find a way to add more time outdoors into their everyday routine.


~Cassandra

 

del Sol


The outdoors is very important to me because it helps me physically and mentally. The sun is my favorite part of the outdoors because it helps my migraines greatly and it increases my vitamin D levels. This being said, I have to take less medication when being in the sun! 


Sunrises and sunsets are the best part of the outdoors because of the beautiful colors. The best place to watch the sunrises and sunsets are at the beach. The beach is one of my favorite places to be because of the sand, sun, and the sea. The beach is great for physical activity because the sand causes more work and better physical activity! The beach is also the best place to be able to clear your mind and just spend time reading a book or even be on your phone. Along with that, the clouds emphasize the sun and the blue sky. A favorite memory of mine on the beach is in Florida looking up to the clouds hiding the sun. My mental health is always improved when I go south! 


My favorite experience in the outdoors at the college would be when I was able to spend time in the outdoors for a biology experiment. We were researching the likelihood of the presence of squirrels both on campus and in Abernathy field station. It was a great experience to be able to spend so much time outdoors while being able to get work done for my undergraduate degree!  

~Adriana


Family


Enjoying time outdoors has always been a way that my family and I spend time together regardless of the season. We plan hikes, biking trips, and go kayaking together to escape the chaos of our busy lives and the excessive noise that technology and the media bring. The time I spend with my family also gives me a chance to stay active and set goals for myself to improve my physical health. I often spend hours in my driveway practicing basketball by shooting or playing against my family members or going for a run with my brother.


Without having the ability to go outside and the support of my family, it would be difficult to meet the goals that I have set for myself. Outside of physically benefitting from spending time outdoors, I like to appreciate the connections that my Native American culture has with nature. I received a telescope for my birthday and have been enjoying learning how to identify stars and constellations as well as the legends behind them with my dad. Overall, having the ability to enjoy nature with my family has allowed me to grow as a person in several aspects of my life as well as explore the beauty and rejuvenating features that nature has in store. 


~Taylor

 

The refresh button


Recently, most of our days have been spent working at home from a computer whether it’s for school or our job. For some of us, it’s hard to find the time to go outside and be active. I know for me, it’s easy to get into a rut of staying inside on my devices all day doing school, working, watching tv, or just being on social media. Before I know it, I feel like I have wasted my whole day online.

I find that the best refresh button in my life is going outside.

Especially with this beautiful Pennsylvania fall weather, going outside on a hike or just a walk around my neighbor makes me feel rejuvenated. The fresh air and cool weather allows me to disconnect from my busy online life, and just relax. I give my brain a break, and my body

gets to move and feel alive.

One of my favorite activities to do outside is playing soccer. I have been playing soccer since I could walk, and it has also been my favorite way to workout. Soccer challenges my body physically, but is so calming for my mental health. When I play, I do not think about my grades or work, all I think about is the game. My mind stops worrying about the past and future and only thinks about what I am doing in that exact moment. When I am not around a soccer ball, I like to go on walks with my friends and family. After working out or going on a walk I always feel so accomplished for the day.

Getting out and moving is such a great way to give your body a break from the work you have been doing all day. It also gives you a chance to connect with others while staying safe.

~Kayla

 

Disconnect to Recharge


Spending time outdoors is important to me because it allows me to ground myself and enjoy the natural beauty of our Earth. I use nature to disconnect from the very digital world in which we live. Spending time outside makes one appreciate life. It lets you recharge, take a needed study break, or just enjoy breathing in fresh air. When we spend most of our days stuck behind a screen, sometimes it is necessary to escape the drone of daily life and go outside.

Seeing the magnificence of nature is humbling and makes me grateful.

Some of my favorite things to do outside are playing sports, like basketball, or taking

a hike. They allow me to feel refreshed and more motivated in my work. Being outside also has amazing health benefits which are important as well. Overall, nature plays a very essential part in all our lives.


We just need to remember to disconnect from the digital world, go outside and enjoy it!

~Victoria

 

Clarity


Whether I am stressed, tired, or conflicted, I find that spending time outside in nature really helps me center myself. Breathing in the air and simply taking in the trees and sky clears my mind of worries; it forces me to slow down and be in the moment, which ultimately gives me perspective on the issues that I am dealing with.

Now more than ever, it is important to go outside from time to time, whether it be for a walk or even to just take a few breaths of fresh air.

One of my favorite outdoor experiences has actually been during the months of lockdown: I went to my yard with a picnic blanket on a warm, breezy day, and all I did was lay on it, looking up at the trees and a bright, cloudless sky. My mind was blissfully empty for the first time in a while; all of the nagging thoughts and worries about my life and situation faded away, leaving behind a sense of calm. This is exactly why I believe in the vital role that nature plays in staying mentally healthy.

It can be difficult to reign in the flurry of thoughts that cross your mind on a daily basis.

However, being outside forces you to be present, quieting the distracting thoughts.

Being absolutely at peace and thinking about absolutely nothing for a few minutes each day really helps put things into perspective and promotes mental wellbeing.


~Esha

 

Awareness


The outdoors stands are a refuge through the troubling times. Often, when I think of my happy place it is a cool morning where the fog is lifting off the fields and I can blissfully enjoy the aloneness. There is a pure freeing feeling within the air that seems to isolate you from the troubles of the real world. 


Growing up on a large farm I feel intimately connected with mother nature and all that she does for us.

Mother nature heals and cures, but she does not forget the trauma that we have caused.

I feel as if during our recent quarantine I was not alone, when I was with nature. Walking through the fields I would hear the birds and see the deer, remembering that we are not alone the creatures of this planet.

Oftentimes this connection gets lost in the normal monotonous daily life. Soon after we were sent home, I was walking through the woods alone and noticed a small pool that was full of tadpoles.

This is the first time in many years that I have noticed the tadpoles. Have they always been there? Yes, I almost guarantee it, but this is the first time that I could remember that I had the freeness of mind to notice them.

I noticed the trees with their new leaves sprouting almost as if they were breathing life through the death and destruction. In this way when I was feeling so disconnected from the world, I became connected to another world. 


If everyone went into nature, how would our lives change? I believe that we would be kinder and more free. We would be able to enjoy others and enjoy the loneliness of life. We would better respect each other, life, and the planet. Go and live through nature.


~Dylan

 

Treasure


Ever since I was a child, my family made yearly visits to Cook Forest. I was unappreciative of the visits as a child, scared of the bugs and uncomfortable in the smoke coming from the fires outside of the cabins, I couldn't wait for the weekend to end. It wasn't until I became older that I recognized its beauty and the memories my cousins and I made there. When our large family trips slowly stopped, my immediate family began making the effort to make our own weekend or day trips.

Visiting Cook Forest was the first place where I found myself enjoying the outdoors.

Hiking the trails, going horseback riding, and floating down the Clarion River quickly became some of my favorite activities. With its stands of old growth forest, some of my favorite childhood memories were made here.


Though my family is less enthusiastic, I love taking the hour-long horseback ride through the forest, where I can look around at the beautiful white pine and watch as the deer slowly approach. Cook Forest is not only special to me and my family, but it is a special state park - it is home to what remains of the old growth trees in Pennsylvania with some of the tallest trees in the Northeastern United States. With networks of trails and countless activities, it is a place everyone who enjoys the outdoors would enjoy visiting.  


~Amanda

 

De-stressing


Spending time outdoors is very important to me. It allows for an escape from all of your worries and troubles. Being one with nature is very fulfilling and beneficial to your soul. One of my favorite experiences of being outdoors in nature is when my elementary school used to do “nature walks”. I remember going to the woods behind my school and walking around in nature for a bit instead of recess sometimes. I always really enjoyed this and looked forward to this. I recall one specific time in kindergarten in which we went out and collected some tadpoles to keep as class pets. It was really cool to watch the tadpoles grow and evolve and to learn about their life cycle.

I oftentimes walk around campus in between classes when I have excess time and really admire the beautiful landscape and atmosphere.

This is one of my favorite things to do as I always find it very calming right before going to a stressful Spanish lecture. One of my favorite things to do is to walk around outside when I get bored or even when I start to get stressed out. It really allows for me to clear my head of all of my stresses. It also allows me to admire nature without having to be too close to it, as I have a huge fear of bugs!


~Victoria

 


47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page